You’re Going to Be Okay – Holley Gerth

You're Going to Be Okay is published by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

You’re Going to Be Okay is published by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

About the Book
Read an Excerpt
Author’s Website

 

Summary: Have you ever felt like you’re just treading water? Or maybe you’ve had an unpleasant twist come your way in life. Whatever it is, You’re Going to Be Okay! In her newest book, author and life coach Holley Gerth has an encouraging message that every woman needs to remember. God is there with you, in the midst of your struggle, and He’s just waiting for you to give it (whatever it is) over to Him.

Review: Reading You’re Going to Be Okay is exactly what I needed to read during this season of my life. I want to start my review with a heartfelt “THANK YOU!” to Holley Gerth. Thank you for writing like a friend sitting across from the coffee table. It’s like having a friend giving you a pep talk, except you don’t usually hold your friend in your hands. That might be a little weird, LOL!

Ok, serious review material now! A while back I read Holley’s other book You’re Already Amazing and I was immediately drawn in by her writing style. It’s honest and open and she really doesn’t make you feel bad if you’re feeling down. What she does do is help you dig deeper to learn more about how you work and then figure out how to implement the changes you need to make. Unlike a lot of other “self-help” books though, she makes it a point to remind readers that it’s not really SELF help so much, it’s more GOD’S help. Everything comes back around to God and how He wants you to know the truth about who you are.

One of my favorite parts of Holley’s book is that there are interactive journal-y type questions in the back (and I’m going to guess that eventually it will be up on her website too) that go along with each chapter. I never fill in the pages in the book itself simply because I want to be able to go through at a later date and re-read and answer things. That’s why I’m hoping she gets the file up on her website soon, it’s easy to download and then just print it out and fill it in as you read. Probably my favorite quote, or partial quote, was on page 132. It’s the latter part of a sentence but it really spoke to me for a variety of reasons. She says, “…in God’s eyes, size doesn’t equal significance.” *sigh*

Now for my usual nitpick, pronouns used in place of “God” aren’t capitalized. Big deal? Depends on who you talk to. Does it take away from the overall message? I don’t think so. That aside, I have already been recommending this book to ladies in some of my groups on FB. Buy it and read it. Even if you’re not going through anything right now, you will eventually. Or if you know someone who needs that encouragement, get it for them. But I highly recommend it and think it’d make a great women’s study.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baker Publishing Group, Revell

Leave a comment