The Global War on Christians – John L. Allen Jr.

About the Book
About the Author
Read an Excerpt

Summary: The Global War on Christians brings to light the stories of Christians living in parts of the world where there are documented cases of religious persecution. John Allen clarifies that this isn’t the type of “war” here in the U.S. where people fight over whether or not nativities are ok in public, this is genuine persecution where just being a Christian is life-threatening.

Review: Honestly, I’m not done with the book. I’m not even a quarter of the way through. It’s not because it’s a bad book or because I don’t agree with the author (he’s Catholic, I’m not). It’s just that I have a really hard time reading books like this. The content is valuable and the Western world needs to be aware that persecution on the level of “you’re being killed because you believe in God” actually happens. But this just wasn’t the book for me. It was wordy, which the author admitted it probably would be. But it was dry, I thought. The data is good to include, the break down of world areas was good because it kept things more focused. For me, I think it would have been less dry if there had been larger sections of biographical information thrown in. I understand though that because of the topic, those kinds of stories may be hard to come by.

The Global War on Christians was well-written and well worth the read if you like more data. I would definitely recommend the book simply because it’s a topic that seems to be a bit taboo in the United States. But I have to let you know, I like this kind of stuff (because it’s important to know for a number of reasons) but unfortunately I couldn’t make it through the book in a timely fashion, no matter how hard I tried.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

