Merlin’s Blade – Robert Treskillard

About the Book
About the Author
Book Website

Summary: You know the story of the round table. You know the story of King Arthur. But do you know the story of Merlin? Merlin’s Blade is the first book in the new series “The Merlin Spiral”, by Robert Treskillard. It all starts with a mysterious stone and ends as an epic tale of overcoming fears and becoming who God intended you to be. Follow Merlin as he uncovers mysteries, battles druids, and becomes baby Arthur’s bard. Truly a work of amazing writing from new (at least to me) author Robert Treskillard!

Review: I absolutely LOVE anything Merlin/King Arthur/Camelot and Merlin’s Blade fit the bill. I’d never thought much about Merlin’s past or even though of him from a Christian perspective (as in, Merlin was a Christian). Vast oversight on my part! At first I was a little skeptical because I’d never even heard of the author but Robert Treskillard did not disappoint. I loved reading this book with all the history and swordplay and how it all came back around to Merlin figuring out who God wanted him to be.

Most stories of Merlin that I’ve come across all paint him as some wizard with mysterious magical powers, but this Merlin was different. He believed in God and his “power” wasn’t anything magical, it was a gift from God. In addition to that different look at Merlin, the book itself was well-written and really takes you for a wild ride! Once I started reading I had a hard time putting it down because I wanted to see what happened next. That, to me, is the sign of a great writer! I look forward to reading more in “The Merlin Spiral” series.

About the only thing I’d have to say to those thinking about reading the book is that it is pretty intense so younger readers or those who can’t handle a lot of action (with vivid, but not gory, description) should probably take it easy. I won’t say not to read it because it’s definitely worth reading, but know that there are good descriptions of sword-fighting and all that comes with it.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free through the BookLook (formerly BookSneeze) program in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received.

1 Comment

Filed under BookLook, BookSneeze

One response to “Merlin’s Blade – Robert Treskillard

  1. Pingback: Merlin’s Shadow – Robert Treskillard | A Few Good Words

Leave a Reply

