Peace on Earth – Mary Engelbreit

Peace on Earth is published by Zonderkidz

Peace on Earth is published by Zonderkidz, a trademark of Zondervan.

About the Artist

Summary: In true Mary Engelbreit fashion, Peace on Earth: A Christmas Collection is wonderfully illustrated. Peace on Earth is a compilation of several beautiful writings that capture the reason for the season.

Review: My mom has been a HUGE fan of Mary Engelbreit for a number of years. I grew up with Engelbreit artwork all over the house. In fact, I’m pretty sure my mom had a subscription to Mary Engelbreit’s Home Companion Magazine! So needless to say, I knew who the illustrator of this compilation was just by looking at the picture on the front. When Peace on Earth was delivered and opened, our youngest daughter claimed it as her own, “My book mommy?”

There are a lot of the well-loved Christmas pieces included like “The First Noel”, the story from Luke, “Friendly Beasts”, and “Angels We Have Heard on High”. My favorite illustration is only a few pages in. It’s a BEAUTIFUL full-page with a lion snuggling a lamb. I love it. Here’s a preview (but it looks much better in person):

From round about page 6 of Peace on Earth.

From round about page 6 of Peace on Earth (2013).

I truly don’t have the words to do this beautiful compilation justice. I just don’t. The kids love the pictures, I love the poems. All around a great book!

If you love Mary Engelbreit, you’re going to want to add this Christmas Collection to your library. It would look great sitting next to a Christmas tree or even open under the tree.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free through the BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze, Zondervan

Leave a Reply

