The Women of Christmas – Liz Curtis Higgs

The Women of Christmas is published by Waterbrook Multnomah.

The Women of Christmas is published by Waterbrook Multnomah.

About the Author
Author’s Website
About the Book
Read Chapter 1

Summary: Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna. The three key women in the Christmas story are brought to life by Liz Curtis Higgs in her newest book The Women of Christmas. As each of these women prepare for the coming Savior, readers will to as they see these women of God in a new light. Verse-by-verse reading digs readers down deep into the lives of Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna. Read The Women of Christmas and prepare your heart in a whole new way for the Christmas season.

Review: This is the second Liz Curtis Higgs book I’ve read and I have to say, I love her writing style. How she goes verse-by-verse, or verse section, is a really great way to dig deeper into the stories we’ve all read/heard over the years. In The Women of Christmas, Liz Curtis Higgs brings the lives of Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna to life. I’ve heard or read the Christmas accounts since I was a little kid, but I haven’t connected with them the way I did while reading this book.

I was moved to tears a few times, whether it’s because I’m a mother myself I don’t know, but the things that moved me were things I’d heard/read before and been like, “Oh that’s nice” but that was it. This time though, something clicked and the enormity of it all amazed it. The events surrounding the birth of Christ weren’t your every day drivel, they were HUGE. And the way Liz Curtis Higgs wrote about them really made them hit home. “What we call miraculous, God calls business as usual.” (pg. 30). Goodness, that pretty much sums up the whole thing right there!

The only thing I found that I wasn’t a fan of was the lower case use of pronouns in place of God or Jesus. I have no problem with the pronouns themselves, I just really feel that they need to be capitalized. (I know, I know. “There she goes again about capitalization!”) For me, it’s a matter of, you wouldn’t replace the capital G in “God” with a lower case, so the pronoun needs to be the same. It’s a respect thing. But, besides that, The Women of Christmas is a really really good book!

I’ll likely be reading it again when it gets closer to Advent. It would make for a good devotional for the season. And there are study questions in the back so that makes it really easy to use for devotion time. Woo hoo!

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books, Waterbrook Multnomah

Leave a Reply

