Intentional Walk – Rob Rains

_240_360_Book.867.cover

About the Author

Summary: The St. Louis Cardinals are a successful baseball team. There are lots of books out there that talk team stats and team mechanics, but there aren’t many that talk about their faith. Intentional Walk by Rob Rains does just that. Go in-depth with 2012 team members, managers, and support staff and learn about how their faith in God is a major part of how they play the game. With testimonies from Mike Matheny, Lance Berkman, and Adam Wainwright (to name a few) Intentional Walk is sure to make an impression on you. Not only are these men great managers and players, but they’re also great men of faith.

Review: I’ve always been drawn to the St. Louis Cardinals. They’ve been my favorite team for as long as I can remember. Until recently, I could never figure out just why that was. But now, thinking back on it, it’s been rare to hear of a St. Louis Cardinal who did something negatively newsworthy (note: I said “rare”, not “has never happened”). I think the fact that they seem to be an upstanding team, no matter the circumstances, has always been a big thing for me. When I learned of their family Bible study time (for the players and their families) I was even more of a fan.

Reading Intentional Walk was a real eye-opener as to why the team works so well together. They have a bond that other teams have, but not to the same degree it seems. They have spiritual leaders that younger-in-the-faith team members look up to and they study the Word together. I loved reading their perspectives on the game. It’s all about their God-given ability. I especially liked what Adam Wainwright had to say about living life for God. “The key is to try to. Trying to doesn’t mean trying to go out and do great acts to please God. You love God, and therefore you want to go out and do things that would please Him.” (pg 25). That pretty much sums up what it means to be intentional right there. It’s not “I’m going out there to win the game for God”, it’s “I’m going out there to use my God-given abilities as best as I am able.”

I know a few baseball fans who would love to read this book. If you’re into baseball, I highly suggest reading Intentional Walk.

Disclaimer: I received this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze

Leave a Reply

