The Point – William E. Jefferson

Cover photo from estillyen.com (2013).

 

About the Author

Summary: The Point: The Redemption of Oban Ironbout follows Hollie and Goodwin Macbreeze on their journey to find something more. The two are led to the Isle of Estillyen because of a drawing from Goodwin’s past. While on Estillyen the Macbreeze couple takes part in several readings performed by the monks of the isle. Between readings, Goodwin meets Mr. Oban Ironbout and the transformation begins.

Review: My first reaction when I got the book to read was “Oh my, look at the font size! And there are a lot of pages…”. Once I started reading it did take me a good while to really get into the story. Honestly, I’d say it took about half the book. Reading the back cover there is mention made of John Bunyan, and I have to say that for me, I had a hard time reading John Bunyan and I had a hard time reading The Point. It isn’t that William E. Jefferson is a bad author, not at all. In fact he’s one of the better writers I’ve read in recent days. The problem was that this is what I call a “thinking book” and I wasn’t in the right frame of mind when I started.

I do have to say, once I got into it, I found myself wanting to be on Estillyen listening to a reading by the monks. I love how the readings pull you into the Bible stories they’re based on. There was also a point in the story where I had to wipe away a few tears because I connected with something in the story. The Point is a book about spiritual journey, and it’s a good one at that. It’s a different perspective on the spiritual journey, but it’s powerful all the same.

Who would I recommend this book to? Well, if you’re someone who likes reading John Bunyan or C.S. Lewis, I’d tell you to give it a shot. It might be a little rough at the get-go but it’s worth it in the end.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Handlebar Marketing in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received and all thoughts are my own.

1 Comment

Filed under Handlebar Marketing

One response to “The Point – William E. Jefferson

  1. Hi Susan Merrill,
    Greetings. I’m so glad you made it through pages of the Point. Thanks for your kind/thoughtful words. Most grateful.
    Best,
    William Jefferson

Leave a Reply

