The Passionate Mom – Susan Merrill

About the Author

Author’s Website

Summary: The Passionate Mom is all about parenting well. Using Nehemiah’s story as her base, Susan Merrill helps moms understand how they can gain the confidence they need to be an effective parent. Starting with Perception and working through to Perseverance, Susan Merrill presents 10 P’s that will make a difference in your parenting. She acknowledges that it isn’t easy, but affirms that it is worth the time to learn how to do the 10 P’s.

The 10 P’s: Perception, Pondering, Passion, Prayer, Patience, Preparation, Purpose, Planning, Problem Solving, and Perseverance

Review: As I read through The Passionate Mom I kept thinking to myself, “This could really be called something like The Ten P’s of Parenting.” While the focus is specifically on moms, the ideas presented are important for both moms and dads. (Especially since now days there are a good number of stay-at-home dads.) That said, this is a very well-written book and I found myself being moved a few times thinking, “Yeah, I need to do that.” or “I need to start doing that.” I had to laugh at myself because I got to the chapter on Patience and put the book down. Not because it was bad but because patience is something I need to focus on and I wasn’t quite ready to go there yet!

What did I like about this book? I love how the story of Nehemiah was applied to parenting. I mean really, it’s not a story one would automatically think of as holding important parenting principles. I love that Susan Merrill isn’t coming at it from a worldly perspective. There are umpteen-thousand books on the shelves about how to parent your children but there are very few good books that come from a Christian standpoint. Not from a holistic standpoint anyway. (Holistic meaning not just one aspect of child rearing but all of them: spiritual, physical, emotional, etc.) I like that she has web addresses to resources on her website for things she talks about in the book (TALK Cards, contracts, ways to pray for your kids).

Truly there isn’t much I don’t like about The Passionate Mom. As always I looked at the capitalization used on pronouns in referencing God. Most of those were not capitalized, but I do realize that not even all Bible publishers will capitalize those. Other than that, I can’t think of anything I didn’t like. Would I recommend this book to a friend? Totally! I would especially recommend this book to a mom group for studying as a small group. One, it would give some accountability and two, it would make for an encouraging group.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own and I received no other compensation.

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze

Leave a Reply

