It Is Finished – David Wilkerson

it is finished

Author: David Wilkerson

Publisher: Chosen Books

Summary: What’s the big deal with the whole “Old Covenant” and “New Covenant” thing? David Wilkerson presents the difference and importance of both in his book It Is Finished: Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin. If you have a sin you just can’t seem to get rid of, if you feel lost, if you feel like you’re failing trying to do it own your own, David Wilkerson reminds you that God has given you what you need to be free.

Review: I had never heard of David Wilkerson until my husband asked me about him because he’d heard about him from co-worker. That was back in 2011. From then until now I’ve not really thought much about him because everything my husband showed me seemed, to me, to be more prophetic. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with being prophetic, it just didn’t really feel like it applied much to me. Then I read It Is Finished. . .

I grew up learning about Old Covenant and New Covenant stuff, and it’s always made sense to me, at least on a basic level. My husband and I have talked about it before but I could never explain how I understood it to work, but David Wilkerson makes it clear. I’m not even going to try and explain it because I don’t want to mess it up. I am going to tell you that if you’ve ever wondered how it works or what it means or even if there really was an “Old Covenant”, read It Is Finished. Not only will you come to a better understanding of the covenants, you will learn how fully living under the New Covenant will make you free.

What I love about David Wilkerson is that he doesn’t sugar coat things. He is not about “feel good” messages, he’s about bringing the truth of God’s Word to the people. In a world that seems to thrive on sugar coating, it’s really nice to hear the truth without all the fluff.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Baker Publishing Group/Bethany House/Chosen Books in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baker Publishing Group, Chosen Books

Leave a Reply

