The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby – Erin MacPherson

Clicking on the photo will take you to Thomas Nelson’s product page.

About the Author

Author’s Website

Summary: The Christian Mama’s Guide brings a new perspective to the pregnancy book realm. Erin MacPherson brings her experience to the table in her “Christian Mama” series. She offers tips on how to handle certain pregnancy “ailments”, funny stories, and what exactly you need to buy for baby. Through it all, she points readers to God for the encouragement and peace that only He can bring during the nine months of pregnancy. The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby is 16 chapters of information, fun, and God.

Review: I’m a mom. Pregnancy is a “been there, done that” thing. I have to say, reading The Christian Mama’s Guide was fun, but it really did show (to me) how every pregnancy is different. There were a few times when the author said, “I’ve never met a pregnant lady who didn’t/did…” and I went “But, I didn’t/did that.” Just goes to show how true the saying is that no two pregnancies are the same! (And that’s ok!) At one point I actually laughed out loud, I couldn’t help it, and my kids asked me “What’s so funny mommy?”, but it’s hard to explain pregnancies funnies to little kids… I decided part-way through that I’d write my review with a list of “Things I Liked” and “Things I Didn’t Like” so here goes.

Things I Liked

  • The humor. It’s sometimes hard to see pregnancy things as funny but Erin did a great job of bringing humor into some serious (for a pregnant momma) stuff.
  • How she brings the focus back to God. Pregnancy is about you, but even more so, it’s about God. He made the female body capable of growing new life, and He is more than capable of sustaining you through it if you’ll look to Him.
  • Tips on what you actually need vs. what you really want. Face it, there are some things you don’t need when you have a baby, you just think you do. (Remember, I’m speaking from experience here too!)
  • A chapter from the male perspective. It’s nice to hear from the men involved!

Things I Didn’t Like

  • The suggestion to use a sling with your baby. Currently, it’s not suggested to use a sling because of how it positions the baby and such. (If you can’t find a new sling, that’s why.) A better suggestion would be to use a wrap. It takes a bit of time to get the wrap just right but it’s safer and you’re still able to have two hands free. 
  • Something about how she wrote about husband’s didn’t sit well with me. I can’t explain it, and it’s probably just because of my experience. But I totally understood why it was written the way it was.

 

Overall, I liked the book just because it’s a completely different perspective on pregnancy. It will be added to my pregnancy library (yes, I have a bunch of books on pregnancy) and shared with friends.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received. All thoughts are my own.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze, Thomas Nelson

Leave a Reply

