Special Review: Mercy House Kenya Shop

Today we’re taking a break from the type of reviews I usually write. This post is dedicated to Mercy House Kenya.

Rehema House (photo courtesy of Mercy House Kenya)

For those who don’t know what Mercy House Kenya is, let me tell you! Mercy House is a maternity home in Kenya. They take pregnant young girls off the streets and give them, and their babies, a chance at life. They provide the girls with a variety of things: prenatal/post-natal care, education, counseling, spiritual guidance, and job skills (to name a few). For a full list of programs, click here.

Review: One of the products I received to try out was the Love Mercy Tote. It’s the perfect size for me to carry my Compassion Advocate materials in, and can also be used as a conversation starter because Maureen is a graduate of Compassion’s LDP. I love it! But there are more reasons to love this bag. It’s made/distributed by freesetglobal which is a fair trade business in India that offers employment to women trapped in the sex trafficking industry. That’s a big deal! freesetglobal helps give women new lives of hope.

bag crop

The bag itself is great! As you can see from the first picture, mine is grey with a blue sari strap, but they come in other colors. It says “Love Mercy” on the front and has a good sized velcro closure pocket on the back inside panel. That’s where I keep my name tag and writing utensils. Much to my surprise, I found two other smaller pockets on the inside. One on each side panel! I was skeptical about the durability of the bag when I first looked at it but after reading up on the bags, I learned they’re made from laminated jute which is actually pretty durable.

inside bag

inside bag (stuff not included)

back velcro pocket

back velcro pocket

side pocket

I also was excited to receive a Love Mercy v-neck shirt. Although the neckline is a little lower than I like, it works well with a cami underneath. The sizes run a size small so when you order be sure to order a size larger than what you normally wear. Mine is a large and it fits perfectly! It’s even been washed a couple of times and still fits great.  Super comfy shirt material. It has the website for Mercy House Kenya on the back and a heart that has “Love Mercy” on it surrounded by wings on the front. From the Mercy House Shop description: “The beautiful wings and heart signify how God’s eye is on each of one, holding us.” I have worn mine to church, out to dinner, and around town. I don’t know if anyone’s visited Mercy House Kenya online because of it but I hope they have.

Please consider buying these, or other great products from Mercy House Kenya! Every purchase helps the girls start a business or go on to further their education once they graduate the program.

Disclaimer: I received these products for free from Mercy House Kenya in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received. All opinions are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mercy House Kenya

Leave a Reply

