A Sudden Glory – Sharon Jaynes

Author Website

More Info

Read Chapter One

Summary: Do you feel like there’s something missing in your relationship with God? In A Sudden Glory, Sharon Jaynes reminds us that as we live out Acts 17:28 and live with our spiritual eyes and ears open, we see God’s glory all around. God isn’t far away, He’s quite close. And when we live in harmony with Him, we experience more of His presence. We are reminded that we really shouldn’t be leading two lives, our spiritual life and our daily life; they should be intertwined so that it’s our daily spiritual life.

Review: First off, I suppose I should put in what Acts 17:28 is, yes? The HCSB version is translated like this, “For in Him we live and move and exist, as even some of your own poets have said, ‘For we are also His offspring.’”  A Sudden Glory really focuses around this verse, the first part specifically. After having read through the book, I completely understand why. Our lives, 24/7, should be lived out in Him.

I’d never heard of Sharon Jaynes when I chose this book to review. I like reading different authors so I thought I’d give it a shot. Whoa. Let me tell you, I got more than I bargained for. The writing is great and she bases her words on biblical concepts. A Sudden Glory isn’t just a fluffy, feel-good, bandaid type book. This is a book that says, “Hey, you’re the one making the choices in your life. Are you choosing to live a life of obedience?” It reminded me a lot of Ann Voskamp’s book about seeing the gifts of God in the everyday things. (Ann, by the way, has good words about A Sudden Glory, printed right on the cover!). Sharon’s book really goes to the next level though, for me. It’s beyond just living a life of thanks, it’s living a life of obedience that makes you aware of God’s presence. Honestly, I’d recommend this book for a women’s small group. It’s got Bible study questions in the back (which are great, and part of the reason it took me a long time to read this book). 

As a final side note, I always like to make mention of proper capitalization of pronouns used for God. It always rather bugs me when they’re not used but Sharon does, so I’m happy.


Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

