A Woman’s Guide – Diane Stortz

Title: A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year
Author: Diane Stortz

Summary: A Woman’s Guide is divided into 52 weeks of Bible readings (not dated, just numbered by week number). Each week starts with a blurb about the section of the Bible you’ll be reading for the week. There are daily Bible readings for each week as well as “Checkpoints” of significance. Throughout the week, or at the end of the week, there is a section to record questions, thoughts, things you want to remember, etc. Really just a place to jot down things that were important to you. If you think reading through the Bible isn’t a possibility for you, Diane Stortz helps you organize your reading so that you can!

Review: love the way A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year is organized. Admittedly, I’m one of those who hasn’t made it through the whole Bible yet. Not to say that I haven’t tried! What I’ve lacked, besides discipline, was a solid plan for organizing my thoughts and readings. I’ve tried the reading plans you can print off of the internet but it’s usually just a list that takes you through the Bible in “Table of Contents order”. The nice thing about Diane’s book is that it jumps around. You don’t plod through all of the Old Testament before diving into the New Testament. Example: In A Woman’s Guide, once you finish Genesis, you go to Matthew; from Matthew you jump back to Exodus. I really like that set up because it breaks up the monotony (as much as I hate using that word) of the Old Testament. Face it, once you get halfway through Leviticus you lose focus!

What else do I like… I like that this is a book/reading plan you can do on your own or in a group. Since you’re working through the Bible in a year I’d highly suggest doing it in a group setting just for the accountability, even if it’s just you and your best friend. Oh, and I really like the cover art. I know that’s a trivial thing but it’s so inviting. Colorful tea cups make everything better! I would like to thank Diane Stortz for putting this book together. Honestly, I think it’s what I needed to help me get through the Bible in a year. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do but felt too overwhelmed to actually get through it. If you want to read through the Bible in a year but don’t think you can do it, or don’t know where to start, try Diane’s book A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Bethany House (Baker Publishing Group) in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own and I received no other compensation.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bethany House

Leave a Reply

