Pursuing Justice – Ken Wytsma

PursuingJustice_012tsm

Ken Wytsma Headshot (PJ)

Alright. I’ve been trying to come up with words to write this review for hours now. I first sat down to write when all three kids were otherwise occupied but you know how it goes, you sit down to do something and chaos breaks out. Second time’s a charm, right? Wait…

So, justice. What is it? I honestly don’t think most people really know anymore. Up until I sat down to read Pursuing Justice, I knew, but I didn’t all at the same time. I got the gist of it but it sadly wasn’t entirely biblical. I knew that God is just and that justice is generally when “wrongs are righted” but I hadn’t made the connection between the two, which I realize is awful but apparently I’m not alone! The first thing that really caught my eye was in the Introduction, actually. Ken has a whole paragraph that describes what justice is and at that point things started to click. The quote starts out with “Justice is rooted in the character of God. . .” and ends with “. . . and carried on today by all who are moved and led by the Spirit.” (xxii). Ultimately, if we’re living how God wants us to live, we’ll end up “doing justice”, at least a little bit.

I just want to say, if you’re looking for something life-changing, pick up (and read) Pursuing Justice by Ken Wytsma. He brings all the pieces of justice together and gives you some perspective. There are times where it’s convicting, it really is, but it’s so worth it to come out of it and think to yourself, “It’s time to change how I live my life.” As one of my favorite bands says, we need to be the change. Things are not going to get any better if we sit by and think that little ‘ol us can’t make a difference. Justice isn’t just something that missionaries or celebrities can bring about. It’s something anyone, especially those who follow Christ, can do. And as Christ’s followers, it’s what we should be doing. I’m going to start pursuing justice, are you?

Pursuing Justice | Book Trailer from The Justice Conference on Vimeo.

Read Ken’s op-ed article here.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thomas Nelson

Leave a Reply

