PTSD: A Spouse’s Perspective – Erica David

Summary: Erica David writes from the perspective of someone who has PTSD (because she does) and as someone who is married to a veteran with PTSD (because she is). In her book she offers advice and lets people know that they are not alone in their journey. She talks about symptoms and how to talk to children about PTSD as well as what you can do as a spouse of someone who has PTSD.

Review: Honestly, this wasn’t as good as I was hoping it would be. One of the things  I didn’t like was the fact that she jumps back and forth from PTSD caused by rape and PTSD from war. I have no problem with both being addressed but it would be nice if they were separated into their own little sections and not all jumbled together. I also was not a fan of the repetition of, in reference to physical abuse, how “he chose” to do it. I don’t disagree that it is a choice but I also know that with PTSD sometimes the person doesn’t actually know what they’re doing until after it’s been done so sometimes, no, it’s not something the person chose to do. I’m the wife of a veteran  and I studied psychology (but I’m no professional!), but most of this book didn’t sit well with me. Yes, it’s great to know you’re not alone and yes, you do need to take care of yourself too, but I really felt like there was a lot of emphasis placed on divorce and that bothered me.

Are there good points to this book? A few. I do appreciate that the author was open to sharing her experience. And I do know how important it is to let people know they aren’t alone. She also lists some resources in the back of the book that are a decent place to start if you’re looking for information.

Overall, not the best book on PTSD there is (though admittedly I don’t think that was her goal). And definitely not the first book I’d recommend to anyone.

Disclaimer: I received an e-book version of this book for free through the BookSneeze blogging review program in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

3 Comments

Filed under BookSneeze

3 responses to “PTSD: A Spouse’s Perspective – Erica David

  1. I’m so glad to have come across your post about this book. I too had a really difficult time with this book and was wondering if I was alone in my feelings.

  2. Tracey

    I didn’t like it. Was looking for something encouraging and frankly, this was more depressing!

Leave a Reply

