Deadline – Randy Alcorn

Author’s Website
Buy the Book (and read Chapter 1)
About the Author

Summary: Three lifelong friends hop in the Suburban during half-time but only one makes it home. Can Jake Woods, the survivor, put all the pieces together to figure out what happened? Follow Jake as he works along side Detective Ollie Chandler in the first installment of the Ollie Chandler trilogy by Randy Alcorn. Put the pieces together as Jake reveals them and see if you can figure out big picture. Not only does the big picture include what happened to his friends, it also includes serious life-changing realizations for Jake.

Review: I have to admit, I enjoy just about everything Randy Alcorn writes. Maybe it’s because he’s from my home  state of Oregon, I don’t know. What I do know is that once I get into his books, I can’t put them down. They suck me in like a good book should, but the nice thing about Mr. Alcorn’s books is that they have substance. There’s important messages to be picked up on even in his fiction and I love that.

Prior to reading Deadline I had read Deception, which is book three in the trilogy, and I enjoyed it. I was eager to read Deadline at the time but the library didn’t have it in so I had to skip it. When I saw it was available for review, I was excited. Admittedly, it did take me a little while to start what with the holidays and such but it was well worth it. The first few chapters took me a while to read but once the story picked up speed I couldn’t put it down. (In theory, I do have three kids, LOL!). I enjoyed it and I had fun trying to figure out what was going on while I read. Admittedly, I didn’t have all the pieces quite right!

I do have to mention, there is a strong pro-life thread in the story which doesn’t bother me at all but I know others might not want to go there. That aside, I think this is a great read for those who like mystery/suspense novels.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook-Multnomah in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

