The Rose of Silence – D.J. Griffin

Buy the Book

About the Author

Author’s Facebook Page

 

From the publisher: “Of all the places in the world, non was so strange as the kingdom made entirely of glass. When Traveler went into the glass village and met all the glass people, he was amazed. But when he learned that they have been cursed  to be this way, and that they desperately wanted freedom from the scraping and jingling of the glass, he knew what he had to do. The Rose of Silence is an exciting story of adversity, danger, and victory. Does Traveler has what it takes to succeed? Can he save the people from their curse?”

Review: I have been looking forward to reading this story ever since I heard it was being published. When it arrived in the mail, the kids were excited to look at it before I even got to read it. The 3-year old flipped through to check out the pictures and asked questions about what was going on. The 5-year old was just excited that I’d gotten a book that wasn’t chapters long and “boring”. He’s 5, what can I say?

I finally got the book away from the kids long enough to read it and I enjoyed it. The kids and I have gotten through part of it together during story time and they have enjoyed what we’ve read thus far. This is an easy read and it’s fairly short (40 pages) with beautifully hand-drawn illustrations. There is a point in the story where a voice says “Believe…because I love them.” (pg 28) and it just gave me goosebumps. While the younger audience may not understand the allegory, it’s there for them to realize as they grow older. I look forward to reading more from author D. J. Griffin. His first published story The Rose of Silence is a winner!

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from the author in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own, I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Independent Author Reviews, Tate Publishing

Leave a Reply

