The Girl’s Still Got It – Liz Curtis Higgs

The Girl’s Still Got It by Liz Curtis Higgs is an indepth look at the book of Ruth. Step back in time and follow Ruth and Naomi from Moab to Bethlehem. Don’t just read her story, live her story. Come along on Ruth’s journey of uncertainty and learn the truths on a more personal level.

Review: Truth be told, I’d never read anything by Liz Curtis Higgs before. I’d always wanted to because I heard she was really good but I’d never gotten the chance to. When I saw a book available for review I jumped at the chance, not only because of the author but because of the topic. I love the story of Ruth. What an amazing young woman. She leaves her home and really has no idea what will happen to her because she’s not exactly the cream of the crop, not by the Israelite’s standards anyway.

I wasn’t disappointed. I love how Liz Curtis Higgs writes. Did you watch the video at the beginning of this post? Yeah, that’s how she writes. Not in rap, but she’s just so real. No “I’ve researched this so I’m better than you” or “I’m a pastor so believe me” type of attitude. Her genuine, “I care about you” attitude comes through in her writing. She makes the book of Ruth come alive, not by adding dialogue to it but by digging deeper into each verse and explaining it. It’s taken me a while to read the book, not because it’s hard to read but because I’m actually going through it and taking it all in. I would just surface read to write the review but I don’t honestly feel like that would be the most honest way to develop a review. The fact that there are discussion questions included for each chapter is awesome for helping you really learn the truths that are present in the book of Ruth. If you’re reading the book currently or want to read the book, Liz has been going through the book on her blog. Stop on by and catch up or read over her posts when you read the book. Comment and answer the questions, or ask a few, and you’re likely to get a reply from Liz herself!

The Girl’s Still Got It would make a wonderful women’s small group study (there’s a DVD available). If you’d like to read the first chapter, click on over here and get started.

Disclaimer: I was given this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

