10 Christians Everyone Should Know – John Perry (ed.)

Summary: In this book are some people who are obvious, a couple you probably don’t expect, and maybe even one or two you’ve never heard of. 10 Christians Everyone Should Know is made up of ten mini-biographies about several people from history who were influential to both Christianity and the world in general. You’ll come away with a better understanding of who these people were and why they had such a powerful influence on Christianity.

The chapters are as follows:

1. St. Patrick
2. Galileo
3. Anne Bradstreet
4. John Bunyan
5. Johann Sebastian Bach
6. Jane Austen
7. D.L. Moody
8. George Washington Carver
9. Sergeant York
10. William F. Buckley Jr.

Review: I love reading biographies, I know, I’m a nerd. I especially love “{insert number here} people [you] should know” types of books because I always learn something new about the people I thought I was pretty educated about. First off, with this book, I have to say I honestly didn’t expect Jane Austen to be one of the ten. No real reason other than I’ve never been terribly fond of her books. Don’t get me wrong, they’re not bad, I’m not just really into that genre. I also had no idea who William Buckley Jr. was. Odd, yeah, but it means I learned something!

The book itself is organized well, with the dates in pretty much chronological order. Chapters are fairly short but well written and end with bolded notes for where you can read a full biography on the person of the chapter. This would be a great book for homeschoolers (I’d say high school level or advanced junior high students) to use in conjunction with their normal history studies.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Thomas  Nelson in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze

Leave a Reply

