Understanding World Religions – Garry R. Morgan

Summary: Understanding World Religions in 15 Minutes a Day by Garry R. Morgan is a wonderful book to introduce people to, obviously, the world’s many different religions. Each chapter is short, meaning it’ll take you about 15 minutes per chapter, and covers the basics of several prominent religions. Chapter 1 starts out defining the word “religion” so that everyone knows what a religion generally is and includes. The following chapters cover everything from Christianity and Islam to some of the lesser known religions like Zoroastrianism and Baha’i. A few of the religions have more than one chapter because they have a rather large history that is important to know prior to reading about the basics of the faith (Judaism, for example).

Review: I was interested in reading this book because I took a world religions class in college and, while it was intensive, it didn’t cover all the world religions and I wanted to understand more about some of the religions it didn’t cover. Understanding World Religions is a good place to start. It’s easy to read (which is good because I’m a busy mom!) and Garry R. Morgan has done his research so he knows what he’s talking about. In all honesty, I’m still not done with the book because, while it does take 15 minutes a day, I have been taking notes which means it’s taking me a lot longer to read! I am actually learning quite a bit from it too. Just a tidbit I found interesting in the chapter on Zoroastrianism: The author mentions that a lot of people base their interpretation of hell on how Zarathustra (the founder of Zoroastrianism) described hell. He also notes that, while the Bible talks about hell, it doesn’t go into great detail about what it’s like but we know enough from Biblical description to know that we don’t want to go there. It made me think, I’ve heard people talk about how Christianity is trying to scare people into believing in God by the descriptions of hell that people use but it seems to me that Zoroastrianism is the real “do good or else” religion. It also made me wonder just how many Christians base their description of hell unknowingly on the Zoroastrianism version and not the Biblical version.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone, Christian or non-Christian, who wants to learn the basics of world religion. Like I said, it’s easy to read, it has sort chapters, and it gives you the basics of each.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bethany House

Leave a Reply

