The Orphan King – Sigmund Brouwer

The Orphan King is Book One in the “Merlin’s Immortals” series. Follow Thomas as he discovers who he is and who he was meant to be. But be cautious, there are those who want to make sure he never fulfills his destiny! Will the ones he travels with be allies or enemies? The knight, the pickpocket, and the girl; are they all what they appear to be or will they prove to be more? Read the first chapter of The Orphan King here.

About the Author: Sigmund Brouwer
About the Book: The Orphan King
Hear what Sigmund had to say about his new novel for young adults. Podcast

The Orphan King may be written for young adults but I enjoyed every bit of it. I couldn’t put it down and am itching to read the next book Fortress of Mist when it comes out next year. Sigmund Brouwer did an excellent job keeping readers on their toes. There were points in the story where I had to figure things out along with Thomas and it made for an enjoyable read. The Orphan King is easy to read but doesn’t disappoint when it comes to fantasy/medieval writing. You can tell that the author knows medieval history by how he describes the world around Thomas. Honestly, this is the first book I’ve read by this author but I’ve been sucked in. I am going to be looking for his previous books about Thomas (I believe it’s the “Winds of Light” series, also in one volume entitled Magnus and/or Wings of Dawn). The next book in this series is due out next February and I’m itching to get my hands on it. I really want to know what happens.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

