Quiet – Susan Cain

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

Author Bio

Read Chapter 1

About the Book

Summary: Introversion, it’s a myth right? Those people just have some kind of social disorder or something, don’t they? Not so, says Susan Cain in her book Quiet. Introversion is not a disorder, in fact, in some cases, it’s an asset. In her book Susan Cain not only explains why the world needs both extroverts and introverts, but also tells readers about some very important people who accomplished great things all while being introverted. The author talks about the “Extrovert Ideal” that the world, or at least the U.S., has adopted, the biology behind introversion, and even how to function effectively with others.

Review: Being an introvert and somewhat of a psychology nerd I was excited to read this book. To be honest, it made a lot of sense to me. I mean, I’ve gone out for job interviews and been turned down because I was too quiet (even if I was more qualified or capable of doing the job). So I totally see how yes, there is a desire for everyone to be extroverted. Susan Cain pointed out in the book that introversion can in fact be a good quality for a leader to have though because in a group of motivated individuals, introverted leaders made the group participants feel more welcome and they were more willing to give ideas. I like that she uses historical examples of introverts, what better way to show others what can be accomplished even if you’re not “outgoing” like others.

Susan Cain has even spoken at/for TED. I haven’t watched the video yet but I plan to. Overall I enjoyed the book, or what I’ve finished so far. I’m most of the way through it (small children and a busy summer have contributed to less reading time) and would recommend it to others who either are introverted or think that introversion is a problem that needs to be solved.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah’s Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

