Surprised By Laughter – Terry Lindvall, Ph.D

In Surprised By Laughter, the author Terry Lindvall, Ph.D takes readers on a journey through the life of C.S. Lewis. We learn that one of Lewis’ favorite people was G.K. Chesterton and how that greatly influenced his views on Christianity and laughter. For C.S. Lewis, it really was all about perspective. There were four principle places where laughter was birthed: joy, fun, the joke, and flippancy. The book is broken up into 6 sections, the majority of which cover each of these origins of laughter within Mr. Lewis’ world. After reading books by C.S. Lewis, it is interesting to see how he was inspired to write the way he did.

Honestly, this is a really good book. However, it was written by a Ph.D and it is very obvious. Surprised By Laughter is more suited to those who like to read academic writings, or those who don’t mind taking a long time to get through a book. Admittedly, I’m only about half way through, and I like academic types of books! I really like how it’s divided up with one part for each origin of laughter, it makes it easier to see how each piece influenced his writing. I would recommend this book if you want more information on C.S. Lewis but I recommend it with a note: be prepared to be reading this book for at least a month, if not more. Again, great content, I’ve laughed out loud a few times, but it’s thick (and I’m not talking page wise, I’m talking writing style).

Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze

Leave a Reply

