For Women Only in the Workplace – Shaunti Feldhahn

Title – For Women Only in the Workplace: What You Need to Know About How Men Think at Work


Author – Shaunti Feldhahn

Professional Shaunti Feldhahn is back with her new book For Women Only in the Workplace (mass market edition available under the title The Male Factor). Obtaining her information via interviews and national surveys, the author presents her findings in an easy to read “guide” for women in the professional work setting. For Women Only in the Workplace covers not only the male perspective on how women professionally shoot themselves in the foot (and how not to), it also covers the biology behind how the male mind is designed. Written to help professional women understand how their male co-workers may perceive them, this book is well endorsed and a great resource for those who feel misunderstood in the office.

In the news –  msnbc

Not being a business woman myself, this book probably looked a little silly sitting on my kitchen table. I mean really, why would a stay-at-home mom be reading about how to succeed in the office? I will say though, from my psychology background (majored in it in college), this book was an interesting read. A lot of the information as far as how male and female brains differ was old news to me (thank you Bio Psyc class) but it was quite informative to read the snippets of interviews (with businessmen) included. It was good to read (from the male perspective) about how things like even just getting teary eyed might make other men think a woman isn’t professional. Granted, I totally understood that idea, but being a woman it was kind of shocking to read that because it’s not always something we can control. Now, and the author points this out, not all men are going to think exactly this way; some will be more understanding, some less. But as a general rule, the results presented are a pretty good idea of how men perceive things. So, while I’m not a professional businesswoman, I still got a better understanding of how men think and I really became a little bit more aware of things I can work on should I ever go out into the workforce.

I would recommend this book, or its mass market version, to women I know who just don’t understand why they don’t seem to be getting ahead in the workplace. It really will help you present yourself in a manner which will make you seem competent and respectable, and still be true to yourself.

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

Please rank my review! http://www.waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/12670/short:1

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

