Dug Down Deep – Joshua Harris

“…orthodoxy isn’t just for old men but it is for anyone who longs to behold a God who is bigger and more real and glorious than the human mind can imagine.” (Harris, pg. 16)

Dug Down Deep is a theology, doctrine, and orthodoxy book for the comman (wo)man. Joshua Harris starts his book by reminding readers that no matter what level of education they have, they’re all theologians because at its base, theology is one’s view of God/god (existant vs non-existant; personal vs impersonal; etc).

The middle chapters talk about Biblical doctrine(s) at their most basic form.

Who God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are
the doctrine of Scripture
atonement
the doctrine of salvation
sanctification (with a great set of cartoon drawings to illustrate the concept of “the flesh”)
both who the church is and what it’s for

The end of the book goes on to talk about humble orthodoxy and how to go about being both humble and firm in what you believe.

Joshua Harris does a wonderful job of getting the point across that just knowing what’s in the Bible isn’t enough. We need to live what we believe and know how to discern when we and others are lacking in understanding or overdoing it.

Quite honestly, I think my favorite part of the book was the reference made to C. S. Lewis’ quote about Jesus being either the Son of God, crazy, or a demon. Which might seem to be an odd part of a book on theology and doctrine to like but 1) it’s one of my favorite quotes and 2) it’s so very true. That’s a whole other topic but at the core it’s really important to having sound doctrine and theology.

This would make a good book for a group to go through if they’re wanting to have a basic understanding of Biblical doctrine 1) because what is talked about is Biblically backed and 2) because it has discussion questions in the back for each chapter.

As a teenager I read both “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” and “Boy Meets Girl” by Joshua Harris. They solidified my personal stance on dating vs. courtship and I intend to pass them on to my kids when the time comes. When I saw that I could choose “Dug Down Deep” I was excited because 1) I like how Joshua Harris writes and 2) the topic is something that comes up in conversations I have with people and I thought the book might give me a better foundation to stand on when I talk to people. I wasn’t disappointed. I came away from reading this book with a better foundation. I’m still a work in progress, but at least I have a better place to stand.

Excerpt
Video
Rate my Review

Disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

