The Book That Made Your World – Vishal Mangalwadi

If you’re looking for a book about how the Bible influenced the modern world, this is a must read! It is a long book, but it is jam packed with historical information on how the Bible influenced technology, literature, and much more. Vishal Mangalwadi writes from an Eastern perspective about the Western world.  This enables him to legitimately share with readers just how different the cultures are and why.

In Chapter 1 the author talks about music and how it has changed through the centuries from music inspired by a desire to communicate on a deeper more soulful level to a type of nihilism (Kurt Cobain, specifically). That really made sense to me as I read through the chapter. I can hear the change as I listen to classical music and then turn on the radio. Music in the modern era has lost something, as has the era’s people as a whole. As someone who loves music, the first chapter really made a lot of sense to me, and probably was what impacted me the most.

Admittedly, it took me a long time to read, and I love these kinds of books. I learned a lot of things I didn’t know, like the connection between monks and clocks. I would recommend this book to anyone to read, however, I’d caution you that if this sort of information isn’t your cup of tea, or if you have a hard time getting into books, this might not be the book for you. It is long, and at times it gets kind of dry, but it’s not a good idea to skip the “dry” parts because they hold a wealth of information!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a comment

Filed under BookSneeze

Leave a Reply

