To Be Perfectly Honest – Phil Callaway

I have to preface this post by saying that I’ve never read anything by Phil Callaway, till now. And I loved it. Not only was To Be Perfectly Honest filled with meaningful insight, it also made me chuckle and once I even literally LOL-ed. (Though that may have been because I was getting over being sick…)

It was really eye-opening to read 365, give or take, days of truth, or mostly truth. The idea of telling the truth for a whole year is rather intriguing, would it lead to the same conclusions Phil came to? It’s worth a shot! Not only do you see the way you really think of things, you see transformation. The way Phil writes, you get that sense, you kind of grow with him through the process. Especially if you go through the discussion questions in the back, either picking through them and thinking over a few, or going over all of them, they’re designed to help you grow. What would you learn about yourself if you were mostly honest for an entire year? Would you learn that you’re not as nice as you thought you were, or that you’re not as close to God as you thought? I don’t know what I’d learn, but it’d be eye-opening.

At first I thought the book was going to be more obviously funny, but it’s not. It’s funny, but it’s funny in a mature fashion. More often than not I found myself nodding while I chuckled on the inside. Except for the part about the 8 lb dog and the Rapture (pg. 146), that gave me a great mental image and I laughed for a good 5 minutes over it. I really enjoyed the book and plan to pass it on and let other’s read it in hopes that they will be blessed by it.

Phil’s book is officially released in May, don’t miss it! To read an excerpt, visit http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9781590529171&view=excerpt

Disclaimer: “I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

One response to “To Be Perfectly Honest – Phil Callaway

  1. I loved this book! I saw your name at the Bloom forum and wanted to see what other books you’ve been reading.

Leave a Reply

