“If God is Good” – Randy Alcorn

Disclaimer: This book was received for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for this review.

Having read a couple of Randy Alcorn’s fiction novels, I anxiously awaited the arrival of his book “If God is Good: Faith in the Midst of Suffering and Evil“.  After reading the first chapter online, I was even more anxious to get my hands on this book and dive in.  I was not disappointed, and I’m sure you won’t be either.

Mr. Alcorn writes clearly and with purpose.  Using not only Biblical accounts but also real-life stories, he paints the picture of why God allows for suffering (and evil) in this life, and why it exists in the first place.  As I have realized, both before and even more so after reading this book, a big part of understanding comes from perspective.

If you want to gain a better understanding of why there is suffering on earth, I highly recommend Randy Alcorn’s book, “If God is Good”.  As  supplemental reading, to further enhance what is presented in the book, I recommend reading Habakkuk (because he too asked the question of God “Why do you let this happen?”).  All in all, though the book is long, it is a wonderful read.  There are many places in the book that I underlined or highlighted in some way so that I’d have a reference point for answering questions posed to me from others.  Also worth mentioning, there is not only a topical index but a scripture index with not only the pages in the book where the references can be found, but the book, chapter, and verse so you can look them up in your Bible. I have since passed the book on to my husband to read and from what I can tell, he too has found it to be informative and worth a read.

To watch/hear some interviews with Randy Alcorn about his book, visit the Waterbrook Multnomah site. I hope that if you choose to read this book, you will not only be blessed but that you will enjoy reading it.

 

Testing the “Get Code” option:

http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/bloggingforbooks/reviews/ranking/1758

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging For Books

Leave a Reply

